Home Forums The Gaming Room Deadzone Newbie

This topic contains 4 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  teddy3501 4 years ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

teddy3501
    Participant

So after watching Universal’s Deadzone youtube series, I went overboard and placed a large Deadzone order. I’m new to working with models too so I set myself up with paint and tools.

Some questions…

How many Scenery Upgrade Pack is required to build a decent board? I’ve read what comes out of the box is not enough so I bought an Scenery Upgrade Pack. How many more should I buy if I expand out with another 2×2 mat?

And tips on working with the Deadzone miniatures (besides those found in the videos)?

Hope it’s OK if post questions on this thread as I start my build. Deadzone looked fun, but I stayed away because the build and painting looked intimidating. But after watching the videos, I think I can handle it now. Thanks Universal Head!

Universal Head
    Keymaster

I bought 1 Scenery Upgrade Pack, so the terrain you see in the videos includes that. Though they don’t really include enough connectors in either core set or expansion pack so I have some bits left over until I buy more of those (I’m not in a hurry to as they’re ridiculously expensive).

I wouldn’t bother expanding out with another map, the game is designed for the size given. And you’d need a lot more terrain. Play a few games on one mat before thinking about expanding is my advice.

I think I put all my tips in the videos. 🙂 Be prepared for some frustration and effort, I found the process pretty long and fiddly. Take your time. It is a bit intimidating if you’re not an experienced miniature painter.

Ask away, that’s what we’re all here for!

TheDeadlyCake
    TheDeadlyCake
    Participant

First time I opened the Deadzone box I got scared and put it away! It was only after a good few watches of Uni Head’s videos that I felt I could take a crack at it!