Home Forums The Storage Room Forbidden Stars Insert

This topic contains 6 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  singulusoculus 3 years, 4 months ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

singulusoculus
    Participant

Such a beautiful game deserves better storage than the usual FFG cardboard insert.

This is my first project to use SketchUp in the design process. It made it possible for this design to make great use of space and prepare for future expansions at the same time. I am really happy with the results.

Here is a link to some images. You can also see some of my other inserts here too. Feedback is very much welcomed.

https://boardgamegeek.com/geeklist/193208/item/3987492#item3987492

Universal Head
    Keymaster

Very nice indeed, and more complex than the version I came up with!

singulusoculus
    Participant

I’m very interested to see what you came up with. Your inserts are always well done.

WonderSlug
    WonderSlug
    Participant

Hey Brian!!!

How am I supposed to come here and brag about the insert you designed if you already did it!?

Anyway. I won’t post my pics now. 😉

Would you mind walking me through your approach to designing in the computer?

I always use Peter’s approach and start with a box, lay out all my “stuff” and see how best to fit as I go.

Did you lay out roughly the components and take measurements, so you’d have an idea of how big each tray needed to be in SketchUp, etc..?

WonderSlug
    WonderSlug
    Participant

Oh, what the hell?

Here’s my variant. Brilliant design by Brian. I just switched around the player tray a bit to allow for sleeved cards and make it easier to skoop them out.

https://plus.google.com/+CurtisDelaney/posts/imK6EpstnZo

Universal Head
    Keymaster

This design approach is so much better than mine I may have to do mine again…

singulusoculus
    Participant