Home Forums The Gaming Room Graphic Design in games, Heroes & Zeroes

This topic contains 5 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Universal Head 3 years, 12 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    zippy1979
    zippy1979
    Participant

I’d like to kick off a discussion about GD in games, there are some games, such as the Phil Eklund series, that have terrible graphic design, and others such as this Kickstarter https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/2116595347/vye-the-card-game that just look mouthwateringly good, (as an aside I have not backed the game since playing it does not appeal to me).

How important is it to you? What are the main offenders and what are some outstanding examples?

Universal Head
    Keymaster

Well, since I’m a graphic designer by trade, and have created the graphic design for a few games (eg Tales of the Arabian Nights, Ninjato, Inkognito, Aztlan), this is a subject dear to my heart (in other words, if I start to rant tell me to pipe down).

Obviously, I think graphic design is absolutely vital. However, I don’t mean ‘making things look pretty’ (how I hate that definition of graphic design). Graphic design is visual communication. And that means that it is intimately tied up with every aspect of the design of a boardgame. The aesthetics and the functionality of a game are not separate elements, they are inextricably intertwined.