Home Forums The Gaming Room High Frontier… any Space Cowboys out there?

This topic contains 16 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Universal Head 4 years ago.

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    zippy1979
    zippy1979
    Participant

Are there any EOG:ers that also like this game? It seems that either people adore it, or they are just terrified of it.

Which camp are you in?

Other Phil Eklund related stories, welcome 🙂

Universal Head
    Keymaster

Well, I’m sort of repulsed by it. 🙂

I appreciate it’s probably a very meaty, involving game, and the work that has obviously gone into it, but it looks like far too much hard work to me. Also, as a graphic designer, I just can’t bear the dinky graphics and typography.

Looks like a fantastic game for budding rocket scientists though!

zippy1979
    zippy1979
    Participant

I totally understand your repulsion by the Graphic Design, there have however been some people that have tried to clean it up somewhat, for example:

http://boardgamegeek.com/file/download/8cf93c7vq4/High_Frotier_Koryo_Player_Sheet_v2.pdf

Once you get over the cluttered and untidy layouts, the game itself is very rewarding and satisfying. Definitely worth an evening to try out.

Universal Head
    Keymaster

A bit brain-burnery for me personally, but I can definitely understand the attraction to some of the subject matter and the realism.

zippy1979
    zippy1979
    Participant

Furry Muff

Universal Head
    Keymaster

Had to look that one up!

zippy1979
    zippy1979
    Participant

One does not simply gpogle “furry muff”

Universal Head
    Keymaster

Mordor

zippy1979
    zippy1979
    Participant

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHHH A Graphic Designer used Comic Sans, my eyes, my eyes are bleeding!

Universal Head
    Keymaster