Home Forums The Workshop Jar's Beginner Class, painting workshop

This topic contains 2 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by WonderSlug WonderSlug 3 years, 4 months ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    MarcellusWallace
    MarcellusWallace
    Participant

Hello everybody!

I haven’t posted much lately, so i thought it’s about time to get something in here!

As you know i’m pretty new to painting. You might also know the guys from Massive Voodoo located in Germany (mighty good painters, their site also offers lots and lots of tutorials, step by steps and general inspiration). If you don’t, check out their site: http://massivevoodoo.blogspot.ch/
    They also offer all sorts of workshops throughout the year, one of which is “Jar’s Beginner Class”, the workshop i attended recently.

It’s a workshop for beginners, regular painters and professionals all alike. It’s a workshop to learn Roman’s way of painting. Getting into his head basically (not literally). I just wanted to share a quick overview about what we did here, if you want to see more of it, check out the review on their own site (link on bottom).

It took place in an old cellar of a medieval citadel in Berlin. Superb atmosphere, right temperature to paint and lots a crazy delicious food!
    Cellar

So friday evening we got introduced to color, light/shadow, composition, art history, painting styles, lots and lots of materials to create beautiful bases. Really it’s more of a painting in miniature form. Which we also started to create that evening, lots of fun basing, learning new stuff and just trying out whatever is in your head. My base started to take shape and i got an idea what it should become until it grew to that kind of ancient swampy demon portal.
    BaseBase 2

Next morning we finished up the base, primed everything and created a sketch of the base (painting the general atmosphere on it), after some more details it started to look how i imagined it.
    Base 3