Home Forums The Workshop Need help, really frustrating primer problem :-(

This topic contains 11 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  SirWillibald 3 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author

SirWillibald
    Participant

Hi everybody,

as mentioned in the reception hall I’m in search for help.

I started painting my miniatures (because of this great site, actually), did a few Descent 2nd Ed. figures, which already showed the same problem but I blamed in some beginner mistakes.

But, even though I think I’m doing a few things right by now, the problem stays. It’s difficult to describe in (english) words, so I took a little video that hopefully shows what I mean:

My primer doesn’t stick. It cracks and comes of with ease, and no, I don’t always bend the mini parts as I do in the video, that’s just to demonstrate the cracks that appeared out of nowhere.

It’s really discouraging, since I really like this new hobby, the first bunch of Battlelore minis came out quite nice (at least for me, and my boys were very impressed):

But I really don’t want to continue if every now and then the paint chips of after I’m done (this has happened before to my Descent minis and even the Rune Golem’s base). The minis will be moved around quite a lot, but on all minis this happened even after a few touches. 🙁

Here’s what I’ve done:

1. Wash in warm water with detergent, scrub with a toothbrush.
    2. Clean in cold and clean water.
    3. Let dry.
    4. Prime with Vallejo spray primer.
    5. Let dry.
    6. Paint.

After I’m done they will be finished with varnish. My frist Descent minis only got one layer semigloss varnish, is more better? The rune golems are covered in about 4 or 5 coats of gloss and one final coat of semigloss varnish, yes, I was really angry…

Did I do anything wrong? Can this be a problem of my priming process? I’d really love to get a clue, I really don’t like to continue that way 🙁

Cheers,