Home Forums The Workshop Shadows of Brimstone painted Tentacles and first painted mini

This topic contains 13 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by MarcellusWallace MarcellusWallace 3 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    MarcellusWallace
    MarcellusWallace
    Participant

I finally got into painting and just quickly wanted to share my first results. I’m new to painting and also new to mini-photography. On another note: How to best take photos of your minis? Do you prefer a white/grey/black background or photograph them infront of some thematic background or even on game-tiles?

A while back, shortly before i received SoB i got into painting with my first miniature ever. It was an old, never made, Warhammer Chaos Chariot from my brother. He used to play and paint but stopped and this was left over. So i took the opportunity and got it done. I was quite happy and learned a lot with this. Painted the horses first, then the two guys and lastly the waggon, then put everything together and did the base. Just learning and trying the basic techniques of basecoating, washing, drybrushing and highlighting.
    First mini
    First mini 2
    First mini 3

So now that SoB arrived i picked painting up again and am working on painting them all (including my first steps with greenstuff and everything). These tentacles are the first which are done and i’m quite happy with the color. They look like they’re right out of the void (and they are void creatures, aren’t they?). They had big mouldlines; especially the bent ones which had half of their suckers covered. I tried my best to free them and drill holes back in. You can see i went a little crazy with the grass sometimes, that’s because i was just trying out different things, less, more, all around and all that.
    SoB Tentacles
    SoB Tentacles 2