Home Forums The Workshop White Primer or Black? What's YOUR preference, and why?

This topic contains 10 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  Universal Head 4 years, 1 month ago.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author

Sanjay
    Participant

I use white primer, but only because I started with it, and never tried black. I started using white because I’d heard it enhances the details to make it easier to see where to paint and that it makes colors brighter. Since I don’t have any experience with black, I wanted to see if anyone had a preference for black, and why.

Universal Head
    Keymaster

I started with white back in the 80s when I started painting, and everyone used white. Sometime in the 90s Games Workshop seemed to lead a change to black, and I’ve never undertood why. I tried it once or twice and found it incredibly difficult and a waste of time – I couldn’t see the detail, I couldn’t wash areas with colour, some colours were very difficult to paint over black (eg yellow), and frankly I never saw the advantage of painting that way (except maybe if the entire figure was clad in plate mail and I was drybrushing it with a metal colour).

Some say it is more forgiving for beginning painters, and perhaps that’s why GW championed it. But once washes were developed that sat in the creases (eg the wonderful Devlan Mud), the last reason for using black as an undercoat – that it automatically ‘outlined’ areas – surely disappeared. I just don’t understand any reason for using black as an undercoat, frankly.

Give me white every time. 🙂

Bremic
    Bremic
    Participant